About the Board
On May 29, 1997 the Alabama State Legislature enacted Act 97-711 (Code of Alabama, Section 34-1A), providing for the establishment of the State of Alabama Electronic Security Board of Licensure (AESBL) which is appointment and serves at the pleasure of the Governor of the State of Alabama. The AESBL is self-funded and neither contributes money to nor receives money from the State General Fund.
Code of Alabama, Section 34-1A and the rules and regulations promulgated by the AESBL require the licensing of any person, sole proprietorship, company or corporation that provides sales, service, installation, maintenance or monitoring of burglar alarm systems, access control and closed circuit TV systems. There are exceptions for persons and business entities that meet certain criteria. See Code of Alabama, 1975, Section 34-1A-6 for details.
Each alarm service provider must be licensed, have a resident Qualifying Agent (excluding contract monitoring stations) and must register each employee agent who sells, installs, services, monitors, or has access to subscriber or alarm system information.
Each company must provide the AESBL with evidence of a policy of general liability insurance in amount of at least $250,000 and must maintain this amount of insurance or more.
For the position for which an applicant requests a license, the applicant must meet the testing and/or certification requirements for a new license and must meet the continuing education requirements to renew a license. The requirements are detailed in the AESBL Administrative Code.
All applications for licenses or registrant permits shall include a complete federal and statewide criminal background investigation report.
AESBL issues ID cards to Qualifying Agents and all licensed individuals. The registrant must display these ID cards whenever they are meeting the Public. ID cards must be produced on demand of any law enforcement official, state, city, county code enforcement official or building inspection personnel.
The license number (excluding the year prefix) of a company shall be displayed in all advertising and on contracts, business cards, yard signs and on company vehicles.
If the Code of Alabama, Section 34-1A or any order, rule, or regulation of AESBL is violated by any person or business entity, then the person or business entity shall be guilty of a Class A misdemeanor. AESBL may fine violators up to $1,000 for a violation and may file civil action to collect a penalty.
There is no licensing reciprocity with any other state at this time.